Nikki Yanofsky / Audio-Technica Prize

Canadian jazz-pop vocalist founds the Nikki Yanofsky/Audio-Technica Scholarship

in honor of Audio Technica’s 50th anniversary


Congratulations to the winners of the Nikki Yanofsky Audio Technica Prize! 


Diego Espinosa Cruz Gonzalez (DMus, Percussion) and José Luís Aguirre Galindo (MMus, Sound Recording) have won $10,000 for the realization of a collaborative recording project involving the innovative artistic use of music technology.

Their project, entitled Nouvelle 5.1-Sound Performance, will be a documentation on DVD in video and surround-sound audio of world premieres of six new works for multi-percussion and live electronics. The composers of the works come from Serbia, the Netherlands, Canada, and Mexico, and the works include a wide variety of innovative musical techniques, including: sounds projected onto a metallic structure; a mural of ceramic tiles and duct tape that is scratched with metal spoons creating a polyphonic texture; and amplified teeth, skull, and voice for a seven-layer rhythmic counterpoint performed by a single person.



About the Prize:

Nikki Yanofsky/Audio Technica Prize

A prize of $10,000 will be awarded by competition to a group of two or more students for the realization of a collaborative recording project involving the innovative artistic use of music technology. The competition is open to all students in any program. Student proposals should indicate the nature of the project and the roles of participants. Project applicants are required to submit individual application forms, CVs and letters of support from their supervisors together with a single project description for all applicants in the group. Funds may be used for any purpose leading to the realization of project, including stipends; a budget must also be submitted with the application. The winning proposal would result in a fully produced recording.

Please complete the attached form and submit one electronic and one hard copy to the Dean’s Office, Schulich School of Music of McGill University, (527 Sherbrooke St. West, room A709, Montreal QC, H3A 1E3) by February 15, 2013.  Late applications will not be considered.

Funds will be divided equally between eligible applicants (full-time students of McGill University) and distributed as a student award in two installments: 75% upon receiving Project waiver form and 25% upon submission of the completed project.

Selection Committee:

Dean or Associate Dean of Research and Administration, Director of CIRMMT, Performance Chair or delegate, Director of Graduate Studies, 2 Faculty Representatives including at least one from Sound Recording.

-Read more about this gift at the McGill Alumni Live 365 

-Read the original Press Release from Audio Technica

Back to top